Follow Us on Facebook
Marriage Equality
Marriage Equality

Are Gay Marriages Legal In All 50 States?

As now, gay marriage is legal in all 50 states in the United States. This marks a significant milestone in the LGBTI+ rights movement, as same-sex marriage was not recognized in any state until 2003, when the Supreme Court of Massachusetts ruled that same-sex couples had the right to marry under the state’s constitution.

Since then, there has been a steady expansion of marriage equality across the United States. In 2015, the United States Supreme Court ruled in the case of Obergefell v. Hodges that the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution required states to license same-sex marriages and to recognize same-sex marriages performed in other states. This landmark decision made gay marriage legal in all 50 states and established that same-sex couples had the same fundamental right to marry as opposite-sex couples.

Today, all 50 states in the United States allow same-sex couples to marry. This includes Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

In addition to the 50 states, the District of Columbia also allows gay marriage.

Follow us on Google News

About Burcin

Check Also

How to Be an Ally to Your Queer Friends

How to Be an Ally to Your Queer Friends

Being an ally to your queer friends involves more than just accepting their identity; it …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *